top of page

Necessary Lies by Diane Chamberlain


WOW! That is what I am going to say about this book. The topic is a tad bit disturbing and it kind of infuriates me that this was a real thing. Actually there are several things about this book that irritate me. The way women were treated by their husbands, the expectation of a social worker, and the Eugenics Sterilization Program in North Carolina. The book focused on the Social worker and her clients and the Eugenics Program. I would consider it historical fiction because I learned about something I did not know existed but all characters and places are fictional. Not sure I can say too much or I will give away the main premise. I love the way Diane writes. She is easy to read and her writing just seems very smooth to me. This book grabs your heart and had me crying in the last chapter. My emotions were swirling during this book. "What is wrong with people", is what a continually said to myself. Characters is this book royally ticked me off. The reviews say this is one of the most important books that Diane has written. If you are looking for something with genuine heartfelt characters and a captivating story, this is your book. I really did enjoy it. As I tell my students any book that pulls any kind of emotion from you is entertaining, no matter if you are laughing or crying.

Rating: I would give this book a 4 out of 5 stars for sure.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page